

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON ENERGY, COMMUNICATIONS, AND TECHNOLOGY REP. HELENA SCOTT

CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

9:00 AM Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Energy, Communications, and Technology was called to order by Chair Scott.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Scott, Andrews, Whitsett, Neeley, Byrnes, Churches, Hill, MacDonell, McFall, Wendzel, Outman, Aragona, BeGole, Greene, Prestin, Schmaltz. Absent: Rep. Steckloff. Excused: Rep. Steckloff.

Representative Hill moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 13, 2024. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid a series of presentations before the committee on energy assistance.

Reka Holley Voelker, representing the Michigan Public Service Commission, gave a presentation on energy assistance programs.

Angie Sterner, representing the Coalition to Keep Michigan Warm, Dr. Darienne Driver Hudson, representing the United Way of Southeastern Michigan, Saunteel Jenkins, representing The Heat and Warmth Fund, and Tonya Swenor, representing the Superior Watershed Partnership, gave a presentation on energy assistance.

Sitara Govender, representing the Wayne Metropolitan Community Action Agency, Marissa Boerman, representing True North Community Services, and Wende Randall, representing the Kent County Essential Needs Task Force, gave a presentation on energy assistance.

Brian Lewis, representing Consumers Energy, gave a presentation on energy assistance.

Representative Neeley moved to excuse Representative Steckloff from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Scott adjourned the meeting at 10:01 AM.

Representative Helena Scott, Chair

Legan Rose Acting Committee Clerk lrose@house.mi.gov