

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Tax Policy Rep. Matt Hall Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, August 31, 20213:00 PMRoom 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by Chair Hall.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hall, Tisdel, Calley, Farrington, Steven Johnson, O'Malley, Beeler, Yancey, Ellison, Brixie, Neeley, Cavanagh. Absent: Reps. Meerman, Outman. Excused: Reps. Meerman, Outman.

Representatives Farrington, O'Malley, Ellison and Neeley joined the committee remotely.

Representative Tisdel moved to adopt the meeting minutes from June 23, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Hall moved to excuse Representatives Meerman and Outman from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5267 and HB 4270 before the committee:

HB 5267	(Rep. Posthumus)	A bill to amend 1933 PA 167, entitled "General sales tax act," by amending sections 4a and 25 (MCL 205.54a and 205.75), section 4a as amended by 2018 PA 673 and section 25 as amended by 2021 PA 38.
HB 4270	(Rep. Yancey)	A bill to amend 1937 PA 94, entitled "Use tax act," by amending sections 4 and 21 (MCL 205.94 and 205.111), section 4 as amended by 2018 PA 679 and section 21 as amended by 2020 PA 30.

Representative Yancey, testified in support of HB 5267 and HB 4270.

Representative Posthumus, testified in support of HB 5267 and HB 4270.

Representative Kuppa, testified in support of HB 5267 and HB 4270. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5267 and HB 4270, but did not wish to speak:

Dr. Nita Kulkarni, representing the Michigan State Medical Society. Mackenzie Parise. Mary Pollock, representing the American Association of University Women of Michigan. Chary Bartolomeo. Elizabeth Cupolo. Ashley Rapp. Rachel Richards, representing the Michigan League for Public Policy. Aaron Keel, representing the Michigan Department of Treasury. Dr. Laura Owens, representing the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecologists. Emily Tujaka. Lysne Tait, representing Helping Women Period. Phillip Vander Klay, representing the Alliance for Period Supplies. Brittyn Benjamin-Kelley. Beth Bowen, Delta Township Trustee. Talya Castell. Claire Liu. Stephen Redding. Gabrielle Gordon. Clare Pfeiffer. Bryanda Washington. Alyssa Leal. Andrew Yang. April Mueller. Emily Rapp. Elinor Jordan, representing the Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence. Michela Bedard and Damaris Pereda, representing PERIOD. Carlos Gutierez, representing the Consumer Health Products Association.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4270, but did not wish to speak: Amy Zaagman, representing the Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5267 and HB 4270, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Fonda Brewer, representing Women in the NAACP.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Matt Hall adjourned the meeting at 3:23 PM.

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov