

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Energy Rep. Joe Bellino Chair

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, November 3, 2021 9:00 AM Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Energy was called to order by Chair Bellino.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Bellino, Markkanen, Hoitenga, Berman, Paquette, Martin, Outman, Roth, Sneller, Cherry, Haadsma, Morse, Puri, Scott. Absent: Reps. Reilly, Manoogian. Excused: Reps. Reilly, Manoogian.

Representative Puri joined the committee remotely.

Representative Haadsma moved to adopt the meeting minutes from October 27, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid SB 103 before the committee:

SB 103 (Sen. Schmidt) A bill to provide for the rights of certain electric transmission line owners; to impose certain requirements on certain electric transmission line owners; and to provide for the powers and duties of certain state agencies.

Kirstie Sieloff, from Senator Schmidt's office, testified in support of SB 103.

Simon Whitelock, Robert O'Meara and Chuck Marshall, all representing ITC, testified in support of SB 103. Questions and discussion followed.

John Dulmes, representing the Michigan Chemistry Council, testified in opposition to SB 103.

Devin Hartman, representing the R Street Institute, testified in opposition to SB 103.

Sharon Segner, representing LS Power, testified in opposition to SB 103. Questions and discussion followed.

Kris Stubbs, representing the Resale Power Group of Iowa, testified in opposition to SB 103.

Jason Hayes, representing the Mackinac Center for Public Policy, testified in opposition to SB 103.

The following people submitted a card in support of SB 103, but did not wish to speak: Manny Lentine, representing the American Transmission Company. Rami Haddad, representing Johnson Controls. Pete Auger, representing the City of Novi. Kevin Korpi, representing the Michigan Forest Products Council. Al Pscholka, representing Kinexus. IBEW Local 17. IBEW Local 223. IBEW Local 876. Matt Pagel, representing Xcel Energy. Mike Alaimo, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce. Rod LeBeau, representing the Utility Line Contractors. Zach Morris, representing the Market Van Buren. Jennifer Owens, representing Lakeshore Advantage. Josh Egglestar, representing the City of Wayland. Nicole Blonshine, representing Blain Township. Brian O'Connell, representing General Motors.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to SB 103, but did not wish to speak: Robbie Diamond, representing Securing America's Energy Future.

Representative Outman moved to excuse Representatives Reilly and Manoogian from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Joe Bellino adjourned the meeting at 10:23 AM.

Representative Joe Bellino, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov