

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

REP. JOE BELLINO CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, February 17, 3:00 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2021 PM Building

The House Committee on Energy was called to order by Chair Bellino.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Bellino, Markkanen, Hoitenga, Reilly, Berman, Paquette, Schroeder, Martin, Outman, Roth, Manoogian, Sneller, Cherry, Haadsma, Morse, Puri, Scott.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Schroeder joined the committee remotely.

Representative Cherry moved to adopt the meeting minutes from February 10, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4236 before the committee:

HB 4236 (Rep. Markkanen) A bill to amend 2008 PA 295, entitled "Clean and

renewable energy and energy waste reduction act,"

by amending section 173 (MCL 460.1173), as

amended by 2016 PA 342.

Representative Markkanen, testified in support of HB 4236. Questions and discussion followed.

Dan Scripps, representing the Michigan Public Service Commission, testified with no position on HB 4236. Questions and discussion followed.

Laura Sherman, representing the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council, testified in support of HB 4236.

Mark Haggerty, representing Michigan Solar Solutions, testified in support of HB 4236.

Charlotte Jameson, representing the Michigan Environmental Council, testified in support of HB 4236.

John Richter, representing the Great Lakes Renewable Energy Association, testified in support of HB 4236.

Rob Rafson, representing Chart House Energy, testified in support of HB 4236.

Camilo Serna, representing DTE, testified in opposition to HB 4236. Questions and discussion followed.

Ed Rivet, representing the Michigan Conservative Energy Forum, testified in support of HB 4236.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4236, but did not wish to speak:

Tom Hickson, representing the Michigan Catholic Conference.

Hallie Fox, representing the Michigan League of Conservation Voters.

John Freeman, Executive Director, representing the Great Lakes Renewable Energy Association.

Brandon Knight, representing Distributed Power.

Henry Love, representing Elevate.

John Bernhardt, representing Pivot Energy.

Amy Heart, representing Sun Run.

Jason Slattery, representing Gem Energy.

Diane Cheklich, representing D2 Solar.

Diane Van Buren, representing D2 Solar.

Art Toy, representing Four Elements Energy.

Jim Newman, representing the Newman Consulting Group.

Adam Harris, representing The Green Panel.

Joe Tesar, representing Quantalux.

Emily Prehoda, representing Chart House Energy.

Jason Walles, representing Power Home Solar.

Ian Olmstead, representing Peninsula Solar.

Tim Powers, representing Inovateus Solar.

Jim Murray, representing Community Solar.

Andrew Vermeesch, representing the Michigan Farm Bureau.

Wayne Appleyard, representing Sunstructures Archictects.

Dave Strenski, representing Solar Ypsi.

Steve Potter, representing Country Air and Solar.

Mark Lee, representing Better World Builders.

Mike Linsea, representing Solar Winds Power Systems.

Allen O'Shea, representing CBS Solar.

William Held, representing Strawberry Solar.

Matthew Kadwell, representing Sumpter Solar Services.

Anand Papprui, representing Spark Building Energy Systems.

Rob Kearcher, representing Absolute Solar Solutions.

Rob Sepeter, representing RLS Energy.

Bob Randolph, representing Quality Solar.

Ken Zebarah Jr, representing Harvest Solar.

Dave Friedrichs, representing Homeland Solar.

Leah Wiste, representing Michigan Interfaith Power and Light.

Mark Cryderman, representing The Green Panel.

Duane Watson, representing Geosmart.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4236, but did not wish to speak:

Stephanie Johnson, representing the Utility Workers Union of America.

Todd Tennis, representing the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers - Michigan Conference.

Michael Alaimo, Director, Environmental and Energy Affairs, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce.

Mike Johnston, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Cathy Wilson, representing the Consumers Energy.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Joe Bellino adjourned the meeting at 4:03 PM.

Representative Joe Bellino, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov