

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Education Rep. Pamela Hornberger Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, December 7, 20219:00 AMRoom 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Education was called to order by Chair Hornberger.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hornberger, Paquette, Green, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Koleszar, Shannon, Stone. Absent: Rep. Posthumus. Excused: Rep. Posthumus.

Representative Damoose moved to adopt the meeting minutes from November 30, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

At 9:06 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 9:11 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair laid HB 4970 before the committee:

HB 4970 (H	Rep. O'Malley)
------------	----------------

A bill to amend 1976 PA 451, entitled "The revised school code," (MCL 380.1 to 380.1852) by adding section 1179c.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4970. The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hornberger, Paquette, Green, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Koleszar, Shannon, Stone. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative O'Malley moved to report out HB 4970 with recommendation, as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 9-1-2:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hornberger, Green, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Koleszar. Nays: Rep. Paquette. Pass: Reps. Shannon, Stone.

The following person submitted a card in support of HB 4970, but did not wish to speak: Sierra Cameron, representing the Michigan Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

The following person submitted a card in opposition to HB 4970, but did not wish to speak: Bob Kefgen, representing the Michigan Association of Secondary School Principals.

The Chair laid HB 5556 and HB 5557 before the committee:

HB 5556	(Rep. Roth)	A bill to amend 1966 PA 331, entitled "Community college act of 1966," by amending section 121 (MCL 389.121), as amended by 2012 PA 495.
HB 5557	(Rep. Damoose)	A bill to amend 1966 PA 331, entitled "Community college act of 1966," by amending section 105 (MCL 389.105), as amended by 2012 PA 495.

Representative Damoose moved to report out HB 5556 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 8-2-2:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hornberger, Paquette, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose, Camilleri, Koleszar. Nays: Reps. Green, Brenda Carter. Pass: Reps. Shannon, Stone.

Representative Damoose moved to report out HB 5557 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 8-2-2:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hornberger, Paquette, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose, Camilleri, Koleszar. Nays: Reps. Green, Brenda Carter. Pass: Reps. Shannon, Stone.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5556 and HB 5557, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Daniel Hurley, representing the Michigan Association of State Universities. Robert LeFevre, representing the Michigan Independent Colleges and Universities. Judy Didion and Judy McKenna, representing Oakland and Madonna Universities.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557, but did not wish to speak:

Sean Gehle, representing Trinity Health of Michigan. Allisyn Mattice, representing McLaren of Northern Michigan. Daniel J. Phelan, representing Jackson College. Alisha Cottrell, representing Ascension Michigan.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5556 and HB 5557, but did not wish to speak:

Deanna Hemmila, representing Northern Michigan University. Matt McLogan, representing Grand Valley State University. Maria McCormick, representing the Cornerstone University, College of Nursing. Michigan Association of Colleges of Nursing. Elizabeth Kutter and Kathy Wilbur, representing Michigan State University. Chad Wing, representing Eastern Michigan University. Bonnie Bochniak, representing Oakland University. Manny Lentine, representing Ferris State University. Matt Chisholm, representing the University of Michigan Dearborn. Bill Kordenbrock, representing Michigan Technological University. Katie John, representing Western Michigan University. Rebecca DeVooght, representing the University of Michigan. Steve Betz, representing Lake Superior State University. Dr. Michael Levens, representing Walsh College. Dr. Phillip Johnson, representing Finlandia University. Dr. Jorge Gonzalez, representing Kalamazoo College. Matt Scogin, representing Hope College. Dr. Virinder Moudgil, representing Lawrence Technical University. Dr. Michael Grandillo, representing Madonna University. Dr. Kent MacDonald, representing Northwood University. Peg Albert, representing Siena Heights University. Dr. Jeff Docking, representing Adrian College. Dr. Matthew Johnson, representing Albion College. Dr. Andrea Luxton, representing Andrews University. Dr. Jeff Abernathy, representing Alma College. Dr. Michael LeRoy, representing Calvin College. Dr. Bart Dias, representing Baker College. Dr. Alan Drimmer, representing Cleary University. Dr. Steven Corey, representing Olivet College. Dr. Brian Stogner, representing Rochester College. Dr. Ryan Peterson, representing Concordia University. Dr. Antoine Garibaldi, representing the University of Detroit Mercy. Dr. Richard Pappas, representing Davenport University. Dr. Gerson Moreno-Riano, representing Cornerstone University.

Representative Damoose moved to excuse Representative Posthumus from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Pamela Hornberger adjourned the meeting at 9:14 AM.

Representative Pamela Hornberger, Chair

Edward Sleeper Committee Clerk esleeper@house.mi.gov