

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION REP. PAMELA HORNBERGER CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

9:00 AM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Education was called to order by Chair Hornberger.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hornberger, Paquette, Green, Markkanen, O'Malley, Beeler, Damoose,

Posthumus, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Koleszar, Shannon, Stone.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Damoose moved to adopt the meeting minutes from November 2, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4970 before the committee:

HB 4970 (Rep. O'Malley)

A bill to amend 1976 PA 451, entitled "The revised school code," (MCL 380.1 to 380.1852) by adding section 1179c.

Representative O'Malley, and Brianna Romines, representing the Epilepsy Foundation of Michigan, testified in support of HB 4970. Questions and discussion followed.

Dr. Seth Devries, representing the Epilepsy Foundation Professional Board, testified in support of HB 4970. Questions and discussion followed.

Carly Jahn, representing the Epilepsy Foundation of Michigan, Parent Advocate, testified in support of HB 4970.

Jenn and Aubrey Brown, representing the Epilepsy Foundation, Student and Parent, testified in support of HB 4970. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid HB 5556 and HB 5557 before the committee:

HB 5556 (Rep. Roth) A bill to amend 1966 PA 331, entitled

"Community college act of 1966," by amending section 121 (MCL 389.121), as amended by 2012

PA 495.

HB 5557 (Rep. Damoose) A bill to amend 1966 PA 331, entitled

"Community college act of 1966," by amending section 105 (MCL 389.105), as amended by 2012

PA 495.

Representative Roth, Representative Damoose, Gabe Schneider, representing Munson Healthcare, and Dr. Bethany Corner, representing MidMichigan Colleges and MidMichigan Health, testified in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557. Questions and discussion followed.

Dean Judy Didion, the Dean of Nursing at Oakland University, testified in opposition to HB 5556 and HB 5557.

Dr. David Roland Finley and Holly Russell, both representing North Central Michigan College, testified in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557.

Jim Sawyer, representing Macomb Community College, testified in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557.

Tim Hood, the President of MidMichigan College, testified in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557.

Dr. Tammy Anderson, representing Wayne County Community College, testified in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Yvette McElvoy Anderson, representing Wayne County Community College. Andrea Shaw, representing Macomb Community College.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5556 and HB 5557, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Dr. Judy McKenna, representing Madonna University.

Robert LeFevre, representing Michigan Independent Colleges and Universities.

Dan Hurley and Bob Murphy, representing the Michigan Association of State Universities.

Barb Wieszcieuski, representing MidMichigan College, submitted a card on HB 5556 and HB 5557, but did not wish to speak.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5556 and HB 5557, but did not wish to speak:

Allisyn Mattice-Eskau, representing McLaren Northern Hospital.

Liz Fluty, the Director of Nursing at Kellogg Community College.

Dan Phelan, the President of Jackson College.

Pete Lacey and Kristin Copenhaver, representing St. Clair County Community College.

Dr. Trevor Kubatzke, representing Lake Michigan College.

Joe Odenwald, representing Southwestern Michigan College.

Meghann Keit-Corrion, representing the Michigan County Medical Care Facilities Council.

Mike Hansen, representing the Michigan Community College Association.

Henry Wolf, representing Traverse Connect.

Dr. Mike Gavin, representing Delta College.

Tony DesChenes, representing Leading Age.

Jeremy Frew, representing Jackson College.

Heather Ruttkofsky, representing Jackson College.

Dr. Dale Nesbary, representing Muskegon Community College.

Dr. Nick Nissley, representing Northwestern Michigan College.

Christine Hammond, representing Glen Oaks.

Sara Birch, representing Glen Oaks Community College.

Glen Cerny, representing Schoolcraft College.

Laura Coleman, representing Bay de Noc Community College.

Stacy Young, representing Montcalm Community College.

Sean Sorenson-Abbott, representing the Michigan Health and Hospital Association.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5556 and HB 5557, but did not wish to speak:

Megan Morris, representing Central Michigan University.

Mia McNeil, representing University of Michigan Flint.

Chad Wing, representing Eastern Michigan University.

Steven Betz, representing Lake Superior State University.

Elizabeth Kutter, representing Wayne State University.

John Kaczynuk, representing Saginaw Valley State University.

Bonnie Bochniak, representing Oakland University.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Pamela Hornberger adjourned the meeting at 10:30 AM.

Representative Pamela Hornberger, Chair

Angie Lake Acting Committee Clerk alake@house.mi.gov