

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATIONS AND TECHNOLOGY REP. MICHELE HOITENGA CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

10:30 AM

Room 307, House Office Building

The House Committee on Communications and Technology was called to order by Chair Hoitenga.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hoitenga, Damoose, Griffin, Hauck, Reilly, Wakeman, Bezotte, Coleman,

Haadsma, Scott. Absent: Rep. Aiyash. Excused: Rep. Aiyash.

Representative Hauck moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 27, 2022. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5973 before the committee:

HB 5973 (Rep. Berman)

A bill to prohibit certain censorship by certain social media platforms; to designate certain social media platforms as common carriers; to prescribe civil sanctions; to provide remedies; and to provide for the powers and duties of certain state and local governmental officers and entities.

Representative Berman testified in support of HB 5973. Questions and discussion followed.

Professor Adam Candeub, a Michigan State University Professor of Law and Director of the Intellectual Property Informations and Communications Law Program, testified in support of HB 5973. Questions and discussion followed.

Jennifer Huddleston, representing NetChoice, testified in opposition to HB 5973. Questions and discussion followed.

James Sherk, representing the Center for American Freedom at the America First Policy

Institute, testified in opposition to HB 5973.

Spence Purnell, representing The Reason Foundation, testified in opposition to HB 5973.

Tyler Smith, representing the Chamber of Progress, testified in opposition to HB 5973. Questions and discussion followed.

Representative Haadsma moved to excuse Representative Aiyash from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Hoitenga adjourned the meeting at 12:00 AM.

Representative Michele Hoitenga, Chair

Sondra Gordon Committee Clerk sgordon@house.mi.gov