

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATIONS AND TECHNOLOGY REP. MICHELE HOITENGA CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, February 9, 2022

10:30 AM

Room 307, House Office Building

The House Committee on Communications and Technology was called to order by Chair Hoitenga.

The Clerk read the following letters making changes to the committee:

November 10, 2021

Dear Speaker Wentworth and Clerk Randall,

I hereby resign the office of State Representative for the 36th district of the House of Representatives.

Sincerely,

Douglas C. Wozniak

November 30, 2021

Dear Clerk Randall,

This letter is to notify you that I am making the following committee appointments:

Representative Rodney Wakeman to the committee on Communications and Technology.

Jason Wentworth, Speaker

Michigan House of Representatives

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hoitenga, Damoose, Griffin, Hauck, Reilly, Wakeman, Bezotte, Coleman,

Haadsma, Aiyash, Scott.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Aiyash joined the committee remotely.

Representative Damoose moved to adopt the meeting minutes from October 20, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5597 before the committee:

HB 5597 (Rep. LaFave)

A bill to require social media platforms to provide a method for users to identify as candidates; to prohibit certain actions of social media platforms; and to provide remedies.

Representative LaFave testified in support of HB 5597. Questions and discussion followed.

Tyler Diers, representing TechNet, testified in opposition to HB 5597. Questions and discussion followed.

Adrian Moore, representing the Reason Foundation, testified with no position on HB 5597. Questions and discussion followed.

Cameron Sholty, representing the Heartland Institute, testified with a neutral position on HB 5597. Questions and discussion followed.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Hoitenga adjourned the meeting at 11:57 AM.

Representative Michele Hoitenga, Chair

Sondra Gordon Committee Clerk sgordon@house.mi.gov