

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Communications and Technology Rep. Michele Hoitenga Chair

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, October 6, 2021 10:30 AM Room 307, House Office Building

The House Committee on Communications and Technology was called to order by Chair Hoitenga.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hoitenga, DaMoose, Griffin, Hauck, Reilly, Wozniak, Bezotte, Coleman, Haadsma, Aiyash, Scott. Absent: None.

Excused: None.

Representative Damoose joined the committee remotely.

Representative Hauck moved to adopt the minutes from the June 23rd, 2021 meeting. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5026 before the committee:

HB 5026 (Rep. Calley)

A bill to amend 1986 PA 32, entitled "Emergency 9-1-1 service enabling act," by amending sections 102, 205, 303, 304, 305, 307, 308, 309, 310, 312, 320, 401a, 401c, 408, 413, 713, and 717 (MCL 484.1102, 484.1205, 484.1303, 484.1304, 484.1305, 484.1307, 484.1308, 484.1309, 484.1310, 484.1312, 484.1320, 484.1401a, 484.1401c, 484.1408, 484.1413, 484.1713, and 484.1717), sections 102, 312, 401a, and 401c as amended by 2018 PA 51, sections 205, 303, 307, 308, and 320 as amended by 2007 PA 164, section 408 as amended by 2019 PA 76, section 413 as amended by 2019 PA 30, section 713 as added by 1999 PA 79, and section 717 as amended by 2012 PA 260, and by adding section 401f. Representative Calley, testified in support of HB 5026.

Patricia Coates & Jordyn Selleck, representing the Michigan Communications Directors Association, testified in support of HB 5026. Questions and discussion followed.

Jennifer Greenburg & Tim McKee, representing Peninsula Fiber Network, testified in support of HB 5026. Questions and discussion followed.

Representative Griffin moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 5026. The motion prevailed 10-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hoitenga, Griffin, Hauck, Reilly, Wozniak, Bezotte, Coleman, Haadsma, Aiyash, Scott. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Pass: Non

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5026 (H-1), but did not wish to speak:

Matt Saxton, representing the Michigan Sheriffs' Association. Herasanna Richards, representing the Michigan Municipal League. Dave Coulter, the Oakland County Executive. Gavin Goetz, representing AT&T. Michael Armitage, the City of Charlotte Mayor & Calhoun County Consolidated Dispatch & Michigan Communication Directors Association. Katlin Hall, representing the Barry County Central Dispatch 9-1-1. Jeff Troyer, representing the Kalamazoo County Dispatch Authority & Michigan State 911 Committee. Cynthia Fell, representing Plymouth Township 911. Marlana Terrian, representing Clare County Central 911. Jordyn Sellek, representing Wayne County Police Chiefs. Laura Haynes, representing the Conference of Western Wayne. Vance J. Stringham, representing Roscommon County. Jeffrey Satkowski, representing Lapeer County Central Dispatch. Stephanie Lehman, representing the National Emergency Number Association. Meghann Keit, representing the Michigan Association of Counties. Ken Grabowski, representing the Police Officers Association of Michigan. Judy Allen, representing the Michigan Townships Association. Joelle Demand, representing the Telecommunications Association of Michigan. April Heinze, representing the State 911 Committee & NENA The 911 Association. Stephanie Johnson, representing the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs & Michigan Association of Chiefs of Polics.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Michele Hoitenga adjourned the meeting at 11:24 AM.

Representative Michele Hoitenga, Chair

Amy Rostkowycz Committee Clerk arostkowycz@house.mi.gov