

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Commerce and Tourism Rep. Steve Marino Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, May 18, 20219:00 AMRoom 327, House Office Building

The House Committee on Commerce and Tourism was called to order by Chair Marino.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Marino, Roth, Farrington, Wakeman, Wendzel, Martin, Cambensy, Cherry, Manoogian, Whitsett, Liberati. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Roth moved to adopt the meeting minutes from May 11, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4722 before the committee:

| HB 4722 | (Rep. Lightner) | A bill to amend 2006 PA 110, entitled "Michigan |
|---------|-----------------|---|
| | | zoning enabling act," (MCL 125.3101 to |
| | | 125.3702) by adding section 206b. |

Representative Lightner, testified in support of HB 4722.

David Pierson and Brian Westrin, representing the Michigan Realtors, testified in support of HB 4722.

Jason Milovich and Heather Gradowski, representing Bluefish Vacation Rentals and Pineapple Vacations, testified in support of HB 4722.

John McArdle, representing the Greater Metropolitan Association of Realtors, testified in support of HB 4722.

Jarrett Skorup, representing the Mackinac Center, testified in support of HB 4722.

Jen Rigterink, representing the Michigan Municipal League, testified in opposition to HB

4722.

Melanie Piana, Mayor of Ferndale, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Robert Monetza, Mayor of Grand Haven, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Pat McGinnis, Grand Haven City Manager, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Judy Allen, representing the Michigan Townships Association, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Gordon Gallagher, representing Spring Lake Township, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Ellen Pearn and Anne McLaughlin, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

Suzanne Schulz, representing Progressive Architecture and Engineering, testified in opposition to HB 4722.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4722, but did not wish to speak: Nathan Rotman, representing Airbnb. Clay Powell, representing the Rental Property Owners Association of Michigan. John Natsis, representing Beachtown Vacation Rentals. Dan Papineau, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce. Robert Buelow. Debbie Tyrell. Dan Skoczylas. Jessica Smart. Michael Davis. Nick Holevas. Debra Tiernan. Marvin Haveman. Cary and Lisa Claver. Paul Hresko. Julie Ritchie. Gerald Webb. Teri Carone. Tom and Mary Lynn. Nancy Bragg. John and Sue Leishman. Walter Draeger. Chris Yonker. Sam and Annemarie Wigton. Melissa Piorkowski. Garrett Bruinius. Linda Lawless. Shannon Adcock. Cari Kuehl. Roberta Born. Dona Nicksic. Mary Schmidt.

Eric Fudala. Karen Vaickus.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4722, but did not wish to speak: James Ritsema, Kalamazoo City Manager. Richard Huff, City of Niles Administrator. Thad Beard, Rockford City Manager. Eric Waara, Houghton City Manager. Wendy Jean-Buhrer, Grand Blanc City Manager. Mike Dora, Grand Haven City Manager. John Hodgson, St. Joseph City Manager. Derek Dobies, Mayor of Jackson. Stephanie Johnson, representing Canton Township. Gordon Gallagher, Spring Lake Township Manager. Joy Gaasch, representing the Grand Haven, Spring Lake, and Ferrsyburg Chamber of Commerce. Joe LaRussa, Mayor Pro-Tem of Farmington. Fred Sheridan. Barbara Caldwell. Mary Eagin. Barbara and Karl Rowe. Eileen Paull. Bob Homan. Tom and Cheri Crum. Ann Blais. Deborah Gang. Jane Ewing. Nancy and Sean O'Neill. Bari Johnson. Ellen delaRosa-Pearn. Mary Robertson. Jodie Adams. John Ison. Dennis Hennen. Karen and Hikmet Sipahi. Susan Rutledge. Peter Wills. Suzanne Schulz. Alexander McKav. Larry McLaughlin. Daniel Stern. David and Karen Kittredge. Julie Johnston-Planner. Rich and Karen Chappell. Len Bokuniewicz. Stephanie Carroll. Donald Nettleton. John Martin.

Joe Hefele, City Manager of Rogers City. Amy Tweeten, City Planner of Petoskey. Paul Jordan, representing the Cobmoosa Shores Association. Susan Streur. Rosalynn Bliss, Mayor of Grand Rapids. Lois Schwartz. Cindy Osman, representing the City of Saugatuck. Laura Haynes, representing the Conference of Western Wayne. Chris Barnett, Supervisor of Orion Township. Bryan Barnett, Mayor of Rochester Hills. Lauri Read, representing the City of Grosse Pointe Park. Greg Janik, Fire Chief of Saugatuck Township. Amy Tweeten, representing the City of Petoskey. Robert and Susan Jones. John Hunphrey, Mayor of New Buffalo. Dale Kerbyson, City Manager of Lapeer. Bill Jackson, representing the City of Grand Rapids. John McNamara, representing the Michigan Restaurant and Lodging Association. Stephanie Johnson, representing the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs. Keith Van Beek, City Manager of Holland. Mark Cleveland, Fire Chief of Egleston Township. Natalie Forte, Mayor of Lake Angelus.

There being no further business before the committee, Representative Wakeman moved to adjourn the Committee. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent. The Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:10 AM.

Representative Steve Marino, Chair

Edward Sleeper Committee Clerk esleeper@house.mi.gov