

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY REP. LYNN AFENDOULIS CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, June 10, 8:30 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2020 AM Building

The House Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by Chair Afendoulis.

At 8:30 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 8:35 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Clerk read a letter from House Speaker Lee Chatfield which appointed Representative Neeley to the House Tax Policy Committee.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, Steven Johnson, Hall,

O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Cynthia Neeley.

Absent: Reps. Wittenberg, Whitsett. Excused: Reps. Wittenberg, Whitsett.

Chair Afendoulis made remarks to the committee.

Vice Chair Yancey made remarks to the committee.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 11, 2020. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Lower moved to excuse Representatives Wittenberg and Whitsett from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid before the committee the following:

Update from the Michigan Department of Treasury

Rachel Richards, representing the Michigan Department of Treasury, testified to the

committee. Questions and discussion followed.

Chris Hackbarth, representing the Michigan Municipal League, testified to the committee. Questions and discussion followed.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Afendoulis adjourned the meeting at 9:22 AM.

Representative Lynn Afendoulis, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov