

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY

REP. LYNN AFENDOULIS
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

10:30 AM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by the Chair.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Absent/Excused: None.

Representative Lower moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 10, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466 before the committee:

HB 4068 (Rep. Kahle) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled"The

general property tax act,"by amending section 9i (MCL

211.9i), as added by 2002 PA 549.

HB 4069 (Rep. Kahle) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled"The

general property tax act,"by amending sections 27 and 34d (MCL 211.27 and 211.34d), section 27 as amended by 2013

PA 162 and section 34d as amended by 2014 PA 164.

HB 4465 (Rep. Rabhi) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled"The

general property tax act,"by amending section 9i (MCL

211.9i), as added by 2002 PA 549.

(Rep. Rabhi) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled"The general property tax act,"by amending sections 27 and 34d (MCL 211.27 and 211.34d), section 27 as amended by 2013 PA 162 and section 34d as amended by 2014 PA 164.

Representative Kahle, Dr. Ed Tritt, Bill Sprow, and Robert Loudermilk testified in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair handed the gavel over to Vice-Chair Lower at 10:47 a.m.

Representative Rabhi, and John Fourneir, representing the City of Ann Arbor, testified in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466. Questions and discussion followed.

Corey Connolly, representing the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council, testified in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466. Questions and discussion followed.

Ed Rivet, representing the Michigan Conservative Energy Forum, testified in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466. Questions and discussion followed.

John Freeman, representing the Great Lakes Renewable Energy Association, testified in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466.

The following people submitted a card with a neutral position of HB 4068 and HB 4465, but did not wish to speak:

Chris Hackbarth, representing the Michigan Municipal League.

The following people submitted a card in neutral of HB 4068 and HB 4465, but did not wish to speak:

Chris Hackbarth, representing the Michigan Municipal League

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4068, HB 4069, HB 4465 and HB 4466, but did not wish to speak:

Paul Connors, Representing the Michigan Department of Treasury.

Kirk Profit, representing the City of Ann Arbor and the City of Ypsilanti.

Jay O'Bryant, representing Interstate Gas Supply Energy.

Mara HErman, representing the Ecology Center.

Nich Occhipinti, representing the Michigan League of Conservation.

Brother Thomas Zeraf, representing the Michigan Coalition for Human Rights.

Mia Parder, Marshall Weimer, and Chris Back, representing Spartan Sierra Club.

Mark Meadows, representing themselves and the City of East Lansing.

Charlotte Jameson, representing Michigan Environmental Council.

Amy Heart, representing the Alliance for Solar Choice.

Rob DeVries, representing the City of Grand Rapids.

Steve Murphy, representing Power Home Solar.

John Sarver, representing the Michigan Solar Users Network.

Andrew Vermeesch, representing Michigan Farm Bureau.

Brad Ward, representing the Michigan Realtors.

Henry Newman, and Mike Berkowitz, representing the Sierra Club.

Jermain Jones, representing Friends of Detroit and the Sierra Club.

Dan Ezekeil, representing themselves.

Tim Minotas, representing themselves.

Linda Mohler, representing themselves.

Judy Lindberg, representing themselves.

Martin Habalewsky, representing themselves.

Gayle Brettega, representing themselves.

Cheri Najor, representing themselves.

Catherine Sherwin, representing themselves.

Christy McRilliany, representing themselves.

Shawn McCann, representing themselves.

Donald Munski, representing themselves.

James Wright, representing themselves.

Ron Collins, representing themselves.

Diana Wright, representing themselves.

Frank Lyon, representing themselves.

Charles Carpenter, representing themselves.

James Egged, representing themselves.

Lon Herman, representing themselves.

Frederick Miller, representing themselves.

Wendy Hillebrand, representing themselves.

Patricia Paul, representing themselves.

Jennifer Hoffman, representing themselves.

Dixon Dudderar, representing themselves.

Joann Galloway, representing themselves.

Rose Burke, representing themselves.

Ed McArdle, representing themselves.

Madison Ham, representing themselves.

Erma Leaphart, representing themselves.

Emily Puthinh, representing themselves.

James Schmid, representing themselves.

Tiffany Stweart, representing themselves.

Robert Lippert, representing themselves.

Carolyn Ludwig, representing themselves.

Edward Steinman, representing themselves.

Rita Mitchell, representing themselves.

Sandy Larson, representing themselves.

Janet Wylf-Marvin, representing themselves.

Erica Akerman, representing themselves.

Susan Sorg, representing themselves.

Richard Morley Barron, representing themselves.

Jeanne Munn, representing themselves.

Nancy Shiffler, representing themselves.

Carolyn Dulai, representing themselves.

Ruth Mohr, representing themselves.

Margaret E. Hayner, representing themselves.

Anne Pawli, representing themselves.

Amber Weiselr, representing themselves.

Lee Burton, representing themselves.

Sue Norman, representing themselves.

Ginny Maturen, representing themselves.

Cheryl Rusle, representing themselves.

Susan Kelly, representing themselves.

Ronald Kardos, representing themselves.

Robert Aguirre, representing themselves.

Wendy Lawlton, representing themselves.

David Richards, representing themselves.

Raymond Mickus, representing themselves.

Mauricio Jimenez, representing themselves.

Marguerite Clevenger, representing themselves.

Bruce Clevenger, representing themselves.

Corinne Sanders, representing themselves.

Allison MacArthur Rvesink, representing themselves.

Heidi Nagel, representing themselves.

Kathleen Russell, representing themselves.

Sara McAvliple, representing themselves.

Jordan Crispell, representing themselves.

Jean Gramlich, representing themselves.

Judy Noleh, representing themselves.

Janine A. O'Connell, representing themselves.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. James Lower adjourned the meeting at 11:27 AM.

Representative Lynn Afendoulis, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov