

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL SERVICES

REP. DIANA FARRINGTON CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

12:00 PM

Room 307, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Financial Services was called to order by the Chair Farrington.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Farrington, Schroeder, Bellino, Berman, Wakeman, Gay-Dagnogo,

Wittenberg, Clemente, Stone, Whitsett.

Absent/Excused: Rep. Sheppard.

Representative Gay-Dagnogo moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 17, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4274 and HB 4275 before the committee:

HB 4274 (Rep. Marino) A bill to amend 1980 PA 300, entitled "The

public school employees retirement act of 1979,"by

amending section 127 (MCL 38.1427), as amended by 2017

PA 92.

HB 4275 (Rep. Albert) A bill to amend 1943 PA 240, entitled "State

employees' retirement act," by amending section 58 (MCL

38.58), as added by 1996 PA 487.

Marcia Hune, Doug Giblett, and Scott Burnett, representing the Life Insurance Association of Michigan, testified in support of the bills.

Ray Sholtz, representing the Michigan Corrections Organization, testified in support of the bills. Questions and discussion followed.

Tim Greimel, representing The American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees - Council 25, testified with no position on the bills.

Doug Giblett and Scott Burnett, representing the Life Insurance Association of Michigan, were called to answer questions pertaining to the bills.

Jeremy Tripp, representing the Michigan Public Employees - Service Employees International Union Local 517, submitted card in support of the bill, but did not wish to speak.

Representative Wakeman moved to excuse Representative Sheppard from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Diana Farrington adjourned the meeting at 12:44 PM.

Representative Diana Farrington, Chair

Sondra Gordon Committee Clerk sgordon@house.mi.gov