

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL SERVICES REP. DIANA FARRINGTON CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

12:00 PM

Room 307, House Office Building, Lansing, MI

The House Standing Committee on Financial Services was called to order by Chairman Farrington.

The Clerk read a letter from House Speaker Lee Chatfield which appointed members of the House Financial Services Committee.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Farrington, Schroeder, Sheppard, Bellino, Berman, Wakeman, Gay-Dagnogo, Wittenberg, Clemente, Stone, Whitsett.

Absent/Excused: None.

At 12:14 PM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 12:15 PM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

Representative Schroeder moved to adopt Wednesday, at 12:00 noon, in room 307 of the House Office Building as the day, time, and location for regularly scheduled meetings of the House Financial Services Committee. The motion prevailed 11-0-0.

The motion prevailed 11-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Farrington, Schroeder, Sheppard, Bellino, Berman, Wakeman, Gay-Dagnogo, Wittenberg, Clemente, Stone, Whitsett.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

The Chair stated the committee will follow the committee rules as stated in the House Rules.

The Chair welcomed members to the committee.

The Chair invited the following individuals to give a presentation on Banking in Michigan:

Tim Jewell, representing the Michigan Bankers Association.

David Worthams, representing the Michigan Bankers Association.

Alex Morris, representing the Michigan Bankers Association.

Questions and discussion followed.

Patricia Herndon, representing the Michigan Bankers Association, was called to answer questions previously asked by members. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair invited Mike Tierney, from the Community Bankers of Michigan, to give a presentations on Community Banks. Questions and discussion followed.

There being no further business before the committee, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 01:15 PM.

Representative Diana Farrington, Chair

Sondra Gordon Committee Clerk sgordon@house.mi.gov