

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON CRIMINAL JUSTICE REP. KARA HOPE CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, May 14, 2024

9:00 AM

Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Criminal Justice was called to order by Chair Hope.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hope, Andrews, Tyrone Carter, Breen, Young, Arbit, Dievendorf,

Tsernoglou, Mueller, Bezotte, Harris, BeGole.

Absent: Rep. Filler. Excused: Rep. Filler.

Representative Harris joined the committee remotely.

Representative Andrews moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 23, 2024. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

At 9:11 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 9:12 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair laid HB 5569 and HB 5570 before the committee:

HB 5569 (Rep. Tsernoglou) A bill to impose civil liability and prescribe

criminal penalties for the nonconsensual

dissemination of deep fake sexual images; and to

provide for remedies.

HB 5570 (Rep. Bierlein) A bill to amend 1927 PA 175, entitled "The code

of criminal procedure," by amending section 17b of chapter XVII (MCL 777.17b), as added by

2002 PA 28.

Representative Tsernoglou and Representative Bierlein testified together in support of HB 5569 and HB 5570. Questions and discussion followed.

Rob Weissman, representing the Public Citizen, testified in support of HB 5569 and HB 5570.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5569 and HB 5570, but did not wish to speak:

Mary Pollock, representing the American Association of University Women of Michigan. Heath Lowry, representing the Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence. Aaron Van Langevelde, representing the Michigan Department of Attorney General. Matt Saxton, representing the Michigan Sheriffs' Association.

The Chair laid HB 4427 before the committee:

HB 4427 (Rep. Young)

A bill to amend 1976 PA 442, entitled "Freedom of information act," by amending sections 1, 2, 3, and 5 (MCL 15.231, 15.232, 15.233, and 15.235), section 1 as amended by 1997 PA 6, section 2 as amended by 2018 PA 68, section 3 as amended by 2018 PA 523, and section 5 as amended by 2020 PA 36.

Representative Young testified in support of HB 4427.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4427, but did not wish to speak: John Cooper, representing Safe and Just Michigan.

Tony Gant, representing Nation Outside.

The following person submitted a card in opposition to HB 4427, but did not wish to speak: Matt Saxton, representing the Michigan Sheriffs' Association.

Representative Tyrone Carter moved to adopt substitute (H-5) to HB 4427. The motion prevailed 8-3-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hope, Andrews, Tyrone Carter, Breen, Young, Arbit, Dievendorf,

Tsernoglou.

Nays: Reps. Mueller, Bezotte, BeGole.

Pass: None.

Representative Young moved to report out HB 4427 with recommendation, as substitute (H-5). The motion prevailed 8-3-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hope, Andrews, Tyrone Carter, Breen, Young, Arbit, Dievendorf,

Tsernoglou.

Nays: Reps. Mueller, Bezotte, BeGole.

Pass: None.

The Chair laid HB 4385 before the committee:

HB 4385 (Rep. Markkanen)

A bill to amend 1994 PA 451, entitled "Natural resources and environmental protection act," by

amending section 1602 (MCL 324.1602), as added by 1995 PA 60, and by adding section 1507.

Representative Markkanen and Beau LaFave testified together in support of HB 4385. Questions and discussion followed.

The following person submitted a card in opposition to HB 4385, but did not wish to speak: Chris Semrinec, representing the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

At 9:55 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 9:56 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

Representative Breen moved to excuse Representative Filler from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Hope adjourned the meeting at 9:58 AM.

Representative Kara Hope, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov